Tags

, , ,

Much of the theater world rejoiced last week and in my opinion, for good reason.

Despite rumors and a (possibly) fake press release, Samantha Barks was officially cast as Eponine in the 2012 Les Miserables movie, and not Taylor Swift.

Phew. Could you imagine “a little fall of rain” with a twang and acoustic guitar?

Before I get into my take on the cast, I have to say, I’m pretty impressed. There is a nice mix of “mainstream” but still talented actors and unknowns. I’m never a HUGE fan of musicals-turned-movies, but I’m guilty of owning many. There is something great about having these shows available at all times to fans.

So without further ado, I’m gonna give my two cents on the cast, okay?

Hugh Jackman, Jean Valjean: I couldn’t be happier about this one. Hugh is honestly one of the most multi-talented actors I know. He also has an extensive stage background and looks the part. Valjean is such an intense character, and who better to play him then wolverine/curly?

Amanda Seyfried, Cosette: This is a very interesting choice to me. While Seyfried starred in the big screen adaptation of Mama Mia and did a great job, I have never really seen her play a character on this level. She has shown she can sing soprano well in Mama Mia and she definitely looks the part, but I wonder how well she’ll play the damsel in distress. I’m optimistic.

Anne Hathaway, Fantine: I can’t believe this one has not gotten more press. I don’t believe they could have picked a better Fantine. Hathaway can sing and play about a million different characters as Fantine has many sides. She was in the musical adaptation of “twelfth night” (which was composed by Hem, one of the folk bands on my playlist!) and was breathtaking onstage. I’m really excited to see her.

Eddie Redmayne, Marius: This one is strange to me. I figured they would have chosen a well-known actor to play to main love interest. There were many rumors that Nick Jonas would take on the role that he had previously performed at the 25th anniversary concert. I had never heard of Redmayne, but when IMBD’d him, I realized he was in My Week with Marilyn along with a few other great movies. I couldn’t find any video of him singing, but let’s hope the poor boy is a tenor. He definitely looks the part and seems to be accustomed to playing a man in love. I think it’s a cool choice to pick a lesser known actor for this role. We shall see how this goes.

Russell Crowe, Javert: I was a bit defensive about this one at first. “Stars” is one of my favorite songs from the show and I had never heard Crowe sing before. I immediately wondered if they’d cut the song. Then I heard Crowe sing. It is absolutely perfect for Javert. He has a husky baritone voice (if you want to hear it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqhwBr6cyEI) that is very Javert. Crowe has also played tough characters so that will work very well, but I wonder how well he will do with Javert’s internal battles and eventual suicide.

Helena Bonham Carter, Mme. Thenardier: Words on a screen can not express how much I love this casting decision. Not only am I obsessed with Carter, but is there really any other mainstream actress who could play this part? She’s a crazy english lady. Perfect. Plus Carter was great as Mrs. Lovett in the big screen adaptation of Sweeney Todd. I love it. I love her.

Sacha Baron Cohen, Monsieur Thenardier: …This one bothers me a little bit. I have never been a big fan of Cohen. His humor just doesn’t sit with me very well. One thing I will give him is he is a great character actor….he really….commits. Thenardier is definitely a character part, but he is deeper than that. He is a cruel man and his part has meaning. Some moments ARE serious. That’s why I am not sure. They just need to reign in his humor a bit.

Samantha Barks, Eponine: As I previously stated, this one made me giddy. Barks Epoinine in the 25th anniversary concert of Les Mis. She was breathtaking. We all know she is capable of playing the part, now let’s see how she does on the big screen.

Aaron Tveit, Enjorlas: …Sorry I just needed a second there to catch my breath. Anyone who has paid any attention to the theater world in the last few years should know Tveit. If you have a pulse, get to know him. He originated Gabe in one of my favorite musicals, Next To Normal and recently starred in the Catch Me If You Can. In both he plays very intense characters (in different ways). Enjorlas is one of the most intense characters in the show and I am confident Tveit will play him beautifully…you may just have to wipe up the puddle that used to be me after I see him on the big screen…

What do you think? Were you pining for someone else to play your favorite? Or are you as psyched as I am?